Members of the Young Academy of Europe are leading young scholars who meet the eligibility requirements listed below. Prospective members of the YAE:

  • are outstanding researchers whose excellence at the international level has been recognised by European or national bodies
  • have a wide interest in science and science policy at the European level
  • have demonstrated leadership abilities
  • are presently carrying out research in the European Union or an associated country*
  • have obtained their doctorate ≤12 years ago (credit given for childcare: 12 months per child for women, time taken off for men; and national service).
*associated countries (as of 1.1.2017) are: Albania, Armenia, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Faroe Islands, Georgia, Iceland, Israel, North Macedonia, Moldova, Montenegro, Norway, Serbia, Switzerland, Tunisia, Turkey, Ukraine, and the United Kingdom.


The YAE initially recruited about 100 members from the pool of ERC Starting Grant holders. Since 1st January 2014, the YAE has been open to leading young scholars whose excellence at the international level has been recognised by their peers (for instance, holders of prestigious European or national research grants or awards) for bottom-up nominations (or self-nominations). As of 9th February 2017, having been selected as member of a European National Young Academies (ENYAs) may be considered as having passed the criteria for YAE membership, at the discretion of the YAE Board. Presidents of these ENYAs may propose candidates directly to the YAE Board, together with their CVs and short statement of motivation for joining the YAE.

Membership incurs a fee of 40€ per year to support our activities (instructions on how to pay can be found here). Members will automatically become alumni after a set number of years, as determined by the YAE as a whole (originally 5 years, but extended to 7 in Dec 2019).

The YAE Selection Committee decision on the admission of new members will be based on the scientific qualification and achievements of the candidates, as demonstrated by their CV and by recommendation letters from their peers, as well as their willingness to actively contribute to the YAE. These points should be clearly addressed in the submitted documents. Detailed information on the general admission criteria as well as the domain-specific criteria are indicated in this document.

For additional information, please contact the Chair of the YAE Selection Committee


Nominations are submitted by email and will be assessed by the YAE Selection Committee on a rolling basis throughout the year.

Prospective members may nominate themselves or may be nominated by a current member of the YAE, the Academia Europaea, or an ENYA Board.

The nomination document package (as a single PDF document) must contain all of the following:

  • Application form
  • Brief curriculum vitae, including a list of most important publications (max. 3 pages)
  • Statement of interest indicating, among others, the intended participation in one or more of the activities of the YAE (1–2 pages)
  • We ask for two letters of nomination from YAE or Academia Europaea members from two separate countries (one can be the candidate’s country), as we expect individuals of sufficient standing to have contacts to established scholars across Europe. We also accept nominations from Board Members of other National Young Academies. If you work in a country or field that is not well-represented in our membership base, please contact the most relevant person from the YAE Board to discuss other possible options.
  • Copy of the candidate’s doctorate certificate (essential!)

At the discretion of the Selection Committee, one of the two supporters may be a member of another prestigious academy, and other requirements can in exceptional cases be adapted.

Note that we will only consider full nomination packages including all of the above documents. Nominations can be sent directly via email to