The Young Academy of Europe Prize, first introduced in 2017, is awarded annually to early to mid-career professionals in recognition of their outstanding achievements and contributions to key areas of the YAE.  In 2019,  the YAE Prize has been named the ‘André Mischke YAE Prize for Science and Policy’ in honour of the YAE Founding Chair, André Mischke. The prize is awarded to support and promote:

  • science
  • evidence-based policymaking
  • science communication
  • future generation scientists and scholars in Europe



  • The awardee of the André Mischke YAE Prize for Science and Policy will be invited to give the André Mischke YAE Prize for Science and Policy Lecture at the YAE Annual meeting following the award.
  • The awardee will receive a cash prize of EUR 1 000.

Please note the deadline has now passed for the 2019 edition. Read more about eligibility criteria.


 YAE Prize winner 2019: Janusz Bujnicki

Janusz Bujnicki

Prof. Bujnicki is working in biology, with a focus on bioinformatics, structural biology and synthetic biology, and is head of a research group in the International Institute of Molecular and Cell Biology (IIMCB) in Warsaw and at the Adam Mickiewicz University in Poznań, Poland.

For his successes in research, he has received numerous awards, prizes, fellowships, and grants including EMBO/HHMI Young Investigator Programme award, ERC Starting Grant, award of the Polish Ministry of Science and award of the Polish Prime Minister, and was decorated with the Knight’s Cross of the Order of Polonia Restituta by the President of the Republic of Poland. In 2016, he was elected to the Polish Academy of Sciences and is currently the youngest member of the Academy.

Bujnicki has been involved in various scientific organisations and bodies active in the area of science and policy, both in Poland (the Polish Young Academy, civic movement Citizens of Science, the Scientific Policy Committee, the Council of the National Science Congress, and the Science Evaluation Committee) and abroad (primarily the Life, Environmental and Geo Sciences (LEGS) panel of the Science Europe organisation). He is currently serving a second term in the Group of Chief Scientific Advisors (GCSA) within the Scientific Advice Mechanism for the European Commission. As an extension of his activities in the GCSA, he is actively involved in representing Poland in the area of the science-for-policy advice as a member of the European Science Advisors Forum. His current efforts focus on establishing a science-for-policy advice system in Poland, with the involvement of the Polish Academy of Sciences (including the Polish Young Academy) and Polish universities.

By awarding the YAE Prize, we recognise his internationally leading roles in academic research, management, and policymaking. The YAE will award its third annual prize, the first one honouring our Founding Chair André Mischke, at the joint annual AE/YAE meeting in Barcelona on 24th October.


YAE Prize winner 2018: Gabi Lombardo

Dr Gabi Lombardo is awarded the YAE Medal 2018 by YAE Chair Dr Mangala Srivinas and former YAE Chair Marcel Swart

Dr Gabi Lombardo is awarded the YAE Medal 2018 by YAE Chair Dr Mangala Srivinas and former YAE Chair Marcel Swart

Dr Lombardo is an expert in global research funding, research and education policies, and international higher education. She has high-level experience in the interface of strategy, policy, research and business. Her field of work accompanies strengthening connections across the university and beyond, within a complex field of external, and international stakeholders. She holds an extensive record in the design and implementation of highly innovative projects, including public and private business investing in HE in the US, China and Europe. She has also a record of establishing multilateral institutional collaborations and university representative offices abroad. Dr Lombardo holds a senior level experience in strategic planning and ‘foresight’ planning in elite higher education institutions, international research funders and associations. She is a constant promoter of the value of the Social Sciences and Humanities from her position as the Director of The European Alliance for SSH, which is the largest science policy organization for SSH in Europe, and has a specific approach to give voice in the science policy debate to an international scientific community.


YAE Prize winner 2017: Rianne Letschert

Rianne Letschert is awarded the YAE Medal 2018 by Marcel Swart, former YAE Chair

Professor Rianne Letschert is awarded the YAE Medal 2017 by Marcel Swart, former YAE Chair

Professor Letschert has had an outstanding academic career, working in the field of international law, with a focus on minority rights and human rights, and is now the Rector Magnificus (equivalent to Provost) of Maastricht University – the youngest female rector ever appointed at a Dutch university. She has been an active member of the Dutch Young Academy since 2013 (De Jonge Akademie), becoming its chairperson in 2015. In 2015, she was appointed to the Identification Committee that assisted in selecting the members of the High Level Group at the heart of the Scientific Advice Mechanism. She is a vocal and active advocate of science communication for young people, and for promoting diversity. She has recently been awarded with the award for the ‘Top Female Role Model in Science’ from Tilburg University. By awarding her the YAE Prize, YAE makes a clear statement in respect of the need to have excellent women academics present at the top of academic research, management, and policymaking.