Young Academy of Europe 2021 Annual General Meeting

Due to the ongoing uncertainty regarding travel restrictions, the 2021 YAE AGM will be a virtual meeting. This would have been our 10th annual meeting, and we will certainly miss seeing you all for in-person networking, but we know that the decision to go virtual is the right one, and the safe one.

The good news is that the academic community is rapidly learning how to deliver high-quality virtual meetings, and we are confident that the meeting will be an enriching, stimulating and enjoyable experience for all.

The 2021 YAE annual meeting will be held on Tuesday 19th October 2021, from 09:30 to 16:30. Registration to the event is free, by clicking the orange link below. We have put together an outstanding programme that includes renowned invited guests, talks by our most recent members, and opportunities for brainstorming and collaboration.

Please note that this year our joint Academia Europaea / YAE meeting – Building Bridges 2021 (BB2021) will also go ahead, immediately after our AGM, in a virtual format. This excellent programme includes the Balzan lectures, the AE Gold Medal lecture, and importantly we are hosting two of the sessions: the 2021 André Mischke YAE Prize lecture by Prof. Marian Verhelst, and a Panel Discussion on “Redefining Rewards & Recognitions for European Scholars”, on Thursday 21st of October. We wholeheartedly encourage you to be part of these sessions! Registration to BB2021 is separate and we will soon link to it on this page .

If you have any questions about the AGM or BB2021, please take contact with YAE Events Chair Scott Bremer (email:


The YAE Board