YAE members attending the 2020 virtual AGM


This year, due to the current COVID-19 pandemic, our yearly annual general meeting (AGM) was held online, on 20th October 2020. It was an inspiring and lively meeting, inclulding an enthusiastic exchange of many exciting ideas by the participants to make a difference by and for young scholars.

The two-hour meeting started with an overview by Mangala Srinivas, now Outgoing Chair, of the highlights of the past year, including the many activities which we have led or participated in. She also introduced the wonderful project manager for our CALIPER grant, Edyta Cios. This was followed by the announcement and lecture of the André Mischke YAE Prize 2020 for Science and Policy, awarded this year to Grant Hill-Cawthorne and with a laudatio by former YAE Chair Nicole Grobert. The lecture by Dr. Hill-Cawthorne, Head of the Parliamentary Office of Science and Technology (POST) in the UK, and adjunct Associate Professor in Global Health at the University of Sydney, offered an excellent example of science advice in practice, and you can catch up on the recording in our Youtube channel. By awarding the YAE Prize, we recognise his internationally leading roles in academic research, management, and policymaking. More information on the Prize is available here.

The André Mischke YAE Prize 2020 lecture was followed by a stimulating brainstorming session, in which YAE members and the Board discussed ideas for future activities of the YAE. Finally, the results of the annual YAE elections were announced and several new members were elected into the Board.

The programme for the in-person AGM 2020, as well as for our joint meeting with the Academia Europaea, remains scheduled for 2021. For now, we connected online, as you can see in the screen capture below. The YAE is only as good as its members. We hope to work closely together over this next year, and to see you all in person at our next AGM, which will be in Barcelona in October 2021 (if the world is back on track).

New YAE Board
Gemma Modinos was elected as our new Chair, and Moniek Tromp as our new Vice-Chair. We remain extremely grateful to the members of the Board whose term on the Board has ended: Sylvestre, Toma, Raul, Thea and Yan. Four new members were elected: Senem Aydın-Düzgit (Turkey), Scott Bremer (Norway), Katell Laveant (Netherlands), and Katalin Solymosi (Hungary). More details on each member’s role can be found on our website.

Please remember that you do not need to be on the Board to be active in the YAE! You can always reach the Board with new proposals and ideas, we will be very happy to discuss. We also rely on you to suggest and nominate prospective new Fellows.


Members of the new board of the YAE at the AGM meeting (Guilia Grancini and Katell Laveant are missing)