YAE the legal entity for newly established YASAS

The YAE Vice-Chair Professor Moniek Tromp, was chosen as an Executive Board member of the Young Academies Science Advice Structure (YASAS). After several months of work by members of the European Young Academies, YASAS was established at the beginning of November. The goal of this new establishment is accession to Science Advice for Policy by European Academies (SAPEA). The YAE is one of the 14 members of the founding organizations. The first executive board members were chosen on the 2nd of December during the kick-off meeting of the YASAS. Dr. Jacek Kolanowski (Polish Young Academy) was elected as the YASAS Chair; the other Board members are: Maral Dadvar (Global Young Academy), Lucas Haffert (German Young Academy), Maria Jose van Tol (Dutch Young Academy), and Moniek Tromp (Young Academy of Europe).

The YAE has played a key role in the initiation and set-up of YASAS, over the past few years. The YAE will also be the legal representative of YASAS in SAPEA. This a big step forward for young academics to have a direct voice in European science policy! The first press release of YASAS can be found here.